Blog‎ > ‎

More on Quartal Harmonic Devices

posted Feb 2, 2017, 8:10 PM by Alex Rogowski   [ updated Feb 5, 2017, 5:11 AM ]

Because it is antritonic (no tritones), the “avoid-the-fourth” version of the Major Scale (AKA Ionian sans 4) is ideal for considering the topic of quartal harmonization. 

This scale and its inversion - Aeolian sans 6 - are hexatonic scales that can be broken down to quartal triads comprised of only perfect fourths. Two of the possible four quartal triads are mutually exclusive in construction. Additionally, the Ionian sans 4 is comprised of four traditional triads (I, iii, V, vi) - two of which are likewise mutually exclusive (V, vi). 

The examples below offer a framework of the scale harmonized with the exclusive quartal triads. 

More on these scales here:

Ionian sans 4 

Aeolian sans 6

Housekeeping note: Dropbox will soon stop allowing direct links to user files. This means in the near future I will be moving many of the files posted in the Archive section of this website and elsewhere. Temporary interruptions may result. If you have saved links to specific files they may change by the end of this coming summer.

Alex Rogowski,
Feb 5, 2017, 5:09 AM